Job satisfaction matrix

I overthink most big problems in life.  I’ve learned to live with it, and shut it down when I absolutely need to, but one of the only upsides of being an “overthinker” is that sometimes with the extra thinking comes clarity.  Ideas reduce, until you’ve come to the essence of what you’re contemplating.  This job satisfaction list is the results of overthinking job related items over the course of many years.  It’s been said that money isn’t everything when talking about a job, and it’s true. For example, a good boss can make a lower paying job worth staying at, and a bad boss (or company) can make a higher paying job a nightmare.

These factors are grouped into what I have seen as four main categories.  When evaluating your job, each category will always have some in the positive, and some in the negative, possibly most in neutral value.  You’re lucky if you have a job that has all of these factors in the positive, but that’s probably impossible.  We’re humans, we live with other humans, and there’s always things out of our control.  Any time I’ve been at the point of jumping from a job to a new one, I’ve looked at the matrix to see where I stood.  You should never jump if only one of these factors is off.  You should jump if quite a few of them are.  I would also suggest checking this matrix if you get a counter offer.  If more money is offered, but other factors that led you to leave are not fixed, it will only be a matter of time before they creep in around the buzz in your head that the more money created.

I hope this is useful to you.

  •  People
    • Do I like my boss?
    • Does he value what I do?
    • Does he grow me?
    • Do I like my coworkers?  If not, can I get along with them?
    • Do I trust my boss?
    • Do I trust his chain of management above him?
    • Do I like the culture of my company?  Or my division, or team?
    • Can I affect change in my team, or with my boss, or with the culture?
  • Company
    • Values
    • Culture
      • Do they value my time off?
      • Do they overwork people?
    • Vision
    • Resources – do they have enough funding?  Are they selling well enough?
    • Potential – How does their market look?  Do they have the potential to hit it?
  • Work
    • Do I have autonomy?
    • Do I like what I’m doing?
    • Do I grow from my situation?
    • Work style (agile?  Waterfall?)
    • Is my work valued?
    • Can I change my work situation if things aren’t working out?
    • Am I challenged?
    • Can I master my skills?
    • Am I overworked?
  • Compensation
    • Pay – needs to be enough to cover bills + saving
    • 401k matching
    • Vacation
    • Pay raise
    • Insurance
      • Employee % paid for by employer
      • Family % paid for
      • Plans available, deductibles,
      • Likelihood that you’ll have an increase in premiums
    • Bonuses
      • Yearly? Quarterly?  Both?
      • Tied to anything like how the company is doing, or your performance?
    • Stock or equity incentives
      • What is the vesting schedule?
        • Is it reasonable?
        • Are there likely changes coming (like the company being bought) that might change this schedule?
      • RSUs – if public:
        • What is the amount given, how much will that likely be worth over the vesting schedule?
        • Will any more be given or is it just the amount from the signing?
      • Options – if not public
        • What is the dilution of these options?
        • What is the likelihood of these options  being worth anything?
      • Employee Stock Purchase Plan (ESPP) if public
        • Percentage discount guaranteed?  Some had none, others have somewhere around 15%.
      • Profit sharing if private
